top of page

The Creeps by Fran Krause: Spoiler Free Review


The Creeps: A Deep Dark Fears Collection by Fran Krause

This is my first time reading a collection of illustrated fears written by author, Fran Krause, although for a long time I've seen works written and illustrated by Fran Krause. This is how it usually happens: I'm using my thumb to scroll down on my feed on Instagram as the light emerging from my cellphone.

One certain post catches my eye and I momentarily halt my skimming and my thumb stays still, my eyes scan the picture, the same style of art appearing multiple instances before. I get excited and type in "Deep Dark Fears Fran Krause" into my Google search bar and the cover for Deep Dark Fears by Fran Krause in the section for images of the book.

The cover of The Creeps, although simple, already draws the reader in. I know that if I saw this as the cover of a book in a bookstore, I would immediately consider buying it from all the way across the room. Maybe not the most enticing cover, it certainly is an interesting one. I give this book 4/5 stars overall.

I do love the simplicity of the illustrations and just the way that these fears are laid out and drawn, I think Fran Krause did it best. I liked how the fears were immensely different from one another.

These aren't all being pulled out of the mind of the author, as some of the fears shown throughout this book are from people who have reached out to him, and I really liked knowing that the bookish community did contribute to writing a part of this wonderful book and deserve some credit for their fears and ideas.

I opened this book and it would not let go of me, or, I would not allow myself to let go of it. I kept flipping page after page until I was finished with The Creeps. It's been a while since I've read a book that I had flown through as quickly as this one.

I would recommend The Creeps: A Deep Dark Fears Collection by Fran Krause to anyone, actually. For those who love graphic novels, as this book is styled and formatted similar to a graphic novel. People who enjoy a little bit of horror with their steaming cup of coffee or maybe just before they go to bed . . .

I received a review copy from Blogging for Books, so a million thank yous go to Books and Broadway.

Sign up for Blogging for Books here: http://www.bloggingforbooks.com

Fran Krause's previous book!

Fran Krause's Tumblr: http://frankrause.tumblr.com

Deep Dark Fears Tumblr: http://deep-dark-fears.tumblr.com

bottom of page